Thursday, October 20, 2016

Latest news on David Irving and Lipstadt

Latest news on David Irving and Lipstadt
By Michael Hoffman
We have not had a great deal of extra time of late, hence, the dearth of these "On the Contrary" columns. Your editor has been laboring assiduously on completing “The Occult Renaissance Church of Rome,” now nearly four years in the making. The delay has been mostly due to opening one door in the Vatican storehouse of arcana, only to discover seven more subterranean doors which lead to another dozen, which lead to…well, you get the picture. In the face of ever more intriguing, revealing and damning data, at what point does an author leave off and declare, finis?

At the risk of writing a three volume opus, which our budget cannot sustain, a demarcation line must be drawn and I’ve given myself until November 30 (St. Andrew’s Day), to stamp finis on this book, after which the task of proof-reading and compiling a comprehensive index will remain, which we reckon at about two weeks. Not to worry, the printing company that handles our work is noted for promptness in addition to superb quality, and it should be just six weeks after we turn the book in that it will be in our warehouse and ready to ship, God willing. 

Meanwhile, on the immediate frontline of this month’s war of ideas, we note that the “Holocaust” movie “Denial” — starring the glamorous beauty Rachel Weisz as Deborah Lipstadt, and a ferret-faced actor known for villainous roles, as David Irving — opens nationwide in the U.S. tomorrow, Oct 21. This flick is a flop: thus far, since it debuted in select cities on Sept. 30, it has earned a dismal $942,664. It looks as though its future will consist of little more than classroom screenings where students hostage to International Holohoax Week will be sentenced to sit through it and afterward write conformist term papers in line with its Tinseltown trompe l'oeil.

Is it not highly revealing, and downright hilarious, that our enemies attempt to defeat revisionist history by means of Hollywood movies rather than free and fair debate? 

Deborah Lipstadt wouldn’t be able to competently debate David Irving for five minutes. It would be the equivalent of having a custard pie pushed in her face, which is why she dared not take the stand and undergo Irving’s cross-examination during the libel trial (the movie claims that she was forbidden from doing so by her lawyers).

The custard pie analogy is apropos, in that Prof. Lipstadt knows next to nothing about her subject matter. She has the prestige she does based on media tricks of omission and monopolization. The powerful revisionist case is either omitted or burlesqued, while her point of view is the one favorably publicized.

By way of rebuttal, historian-scientist Germar Rudolf has penned Fail: "Denying the Holocaust” — How Deborah Lipstadt Botched Her Attempt to Demonstrate the Growing Assault on Truth and Memory, which we recommend highly.

Moreover, whatever David Irving’s serious shortcomings vis a vis his defense of Adolf Hitler (and we think they are many), as a military historian of the World War II Atlantic theatre, he is without peer. As a young man he made his mark in historiography with his classic, The Destruction of Dresden and he remains the foremost authority on the contentious issue of the bombing of cities during that war: who started it, and how it was undertaken.

Last year Mr. Irving gave a speech on the so-called “Battle of Britain" to a history group in England, and this brilliant talk can be viewed above. The media declares that he is a “disgraced” author, but in this lecture one sees a champion of suppressed truth, on his steed jousting full tilt at the reigning stupidities that pass for “proven fact” in this new dark age, in which the religion of Holocaustianity holds dominion over the mind of man as surely as papalolatry once did.

In this videotaped talk Irving respectfully pays tribute to the valor of the wartime Royal Air Force (RAF) and its commander, Sir Arthur Harris. The mendacious British mainstream media, in headlines, subsequently reported to the British public that Irving had disgraced the RAF, and denounced its airmen as war criminals in the course of his talk.

The great thing about demonstrably false media lies like that one, is that they prove beyond any doubt that our enemies traffic in brazen deceit as the principal method by which they sustain their pious orthodoxies.  

Do yourself a favor by taking the time to listen to Irving's speech. You will, in the course of about an hour, obtain the best possible education on the secret history of the air war over Britain and Germany.

Finally, it is unfortunate that relatively few people are aware that Saint Deborah Lipstadt branded Irving with a hate speech epithet, “Amalek.” Her hate speech should not be forgotten or papered over, until she retracts what amounts to a shameful death threat, as we documented in our talk, “Lipstadt, Irving and Amalek,” which also available for viewing on YouTube:


Revisionist History newsletter issue no. 86: 

The “Denial” Movie
Hollywood’s Revenge on Dissident Historian David Irving

With this issue you will be able compare relevant parts of the court transcript from the Irving vs. Lipstadt libel trial with the “Denial” movie. Learn of the extent of the bias against David Irving and how Hollywood tries to prove World War II allegations in movie theaters that otherwise couldn't be proved in the marketplace of ideas and free debate. Sections include: Caught in lie a before the move debuts; Summary verdict of presiding Justice Charles Gray; Concessions made by Irving; Hoffman’s analysis of the hype surrounding the film and of the verdict of the court in the trial; Lipstadt targets Irving as “Amalek;" Criticize Lipstadt and lose your job at Yale; Massacre against Germans denied by Lipstadt; Irving answers Lipstadt on Dresden. Order here.

Saturday, October 08, 2016

Update on our Occult Renaissance book


The Occult Renaissance Church of Rome

Progress and Perils

By Michael Hoffman

By the grace of God we are about two-thirds of the way though the writing of our forthcoming book, The Occult Renaissance Church of Rome. The skullduggery we are discovering is actually worse than we had anticipated. 

One section of the work deals with Reuchlin the “Catholic Humanist” Judaizer, and the papal treachery against his nemesis, Johannes Pfefferkorn, the heroic German-Judaic convert to Catholicism who wrote powerful pamphlets exposing the Talmud. The treachery against Pfefferkorn was put into motion by the Archbishop of Mainz, by the Holy Roman Emperor (who took a bribe from Rabbi Joel of Rosheim), and by usury Pope Leo X, among many others. We have the documentation. This book should prove explosive. Please pray for its success.

We can anticipate the objections from cultists: “The Holy Father didn’t intend to…”

“The Holy Father actually condemned Reuchlin…”

“The Church would never…”

This cult mentality’s apologetic is less compelling under Revelation-of-the-Method Pope Francis, however. He is showing us the tactics of the Vatican for the past 550 years. Formally, Francis does not advocate divorce or deny the indissolubility of marriage, then with his other hand he encourages bishops in South America to admit the divorced and remarried Catholics to communion, “after reflection.” What infant imagines this stratagem is only employed in the modern papacy?

Formally, Popes John Paul II and Benedict XVI did not officially promulgate the doctrine that Pharisaic-Talmudic Judaism is the benign parent of Christianity, then on the other hand by their visits and exhortations and example they did so.

The last resort of the cultists is to state, “But the pontiff did not do these things ex cathedra.”


If by their pontificates the popes enlarged the kingdom of Satan, then that fact alone is enough to demonstrate that the Renaissance and post-Renaissance Church of Rome is not that church against which Jesus said the gates of hell would not prevail.

Sometimes people confuse this writer with a theologian. I am not. I am a researcher in history. God gave us reasoning faculties which, if we are scrupulous, lead us, after investigating and studying the evidence for years, to state that “A” is what happened, not “B.” 

Making this assertion about “A,” it does not follow that it is incumbent upon us to say what happened to “B.”  Res ipsa loquitur.

Christ’s Church was in Rome prior to the Renaissance, prior to the smoke of usury and the Neoplatonic-Hermetic-Kabbalistic satanism capturing the papacy.

Fact: No pope from 1515 onward restored the 1500-year immutable dogma of Christ’s Church against profit on loans that Leo X had incrementally derogated. On the contrary, many pontiffs expanded and enlarged permission for this heinous mortal sin, sometimes with disgusting, Talmudic-type escape clauses (cf. Vix Pervenit), and sometimes with relentless, incremental steps which made possible the revolution of Pius VIII.

Fact: No pope reversed the march of the Kabbalah through the recesses of the hierarchy of the Church. Leo XIII in his famous denunciation of Freemasonry (Humanum Genus) dared not refer, in the slightest respect, to masonry’s Kabbalistic derivation; he dared not declare that Freemasonry is Kabbalah-for-gentiles, and that its foundation first arose in the West by means of the protection the papacy granted to Count Giovanni Pico della Mirandola, Johannes Reuchlin and their demonic epigones.

But, you will say, “The popes burned Giordano Bruno — and the Talmud!” Yes, and mafia bosses assassinate one another when one attempts to usurp the other. To live and thrive as a Kabbalist-Satanist under the pontiffs of the Renaissance one had to submit absolutely to their authority. This was a pre-requisite. Bruno would not. He saw himself as greater than the pope; that’s the reason he was burned; not for his occultism, which Pico had fully initiated under papal auspices, and the humanist Reuchlin had established within the Church like the rock of Gibraltar. Reuchlin died an honored professor at two papally-chartered Catholic universities.

Fact: no force on earth better extended, preserved and shielded the Babylonian Talmud from the virtual extinction sought for it by St. Vincent Ferrer — the most successful evangelist of the Judaic people since apostolic times; the saintly Judaic converts Nicholas Donin and Johannes Pfefferkorn, as well as the Dominicans of Cologne, and Savonarola in the Florentine Republic — than the Renaissance popes.

Suckers who cannot discern the point at which it was necessary for the sly chess players in the Vatican to shore up the institutional unity of the ecclesiastical bureaucracy by making concessions to powerful conservative Catholic forces, will take the occasional burning of the Talmud in the Renaissance era at face value. 

But what does it signify to publicly burn a thousand old and crumbling manuscript copies of the Talmud in the Campo di’ Fiori, when the pope privately made certain that two thousand pristine new copies were reprinted in the finest published edition in history, up to that time

Moreover, when oppression of working men and women was reaching a crushing point in the nineteenth century and Pope Leo XIII, “the light from heaven,” was called upon to blunt the appeal of Marxism by restating to the world the force of law of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and the medieval Church’s implacable defense of the worker, the Catholic faithful beseeched the pope, in his encyclical Rerum Novarum, to destroy the basis of  the parasitic Money Power by restoring the ancient Catholic ban on profits on loans. Leo declined. No such restoration will be found in Rerum Novarum, which is otherwise filled with fine-sounding rhetoric and palliatives. How could it? At the time the encyclical was penned the Vatican was in hock to the Rothschild bank. 

These money facts are found in our 2012 book, Usury in Christendom, which cannot be advertised in “traditional Catholic” publications, or stocked in their bookstores, because the truth hurts.

It's going to hurt considerably more after the publication of The Occult Renaissance Church of Rome; the Rome which has nurtured a child-molester transvestite culture among the hierarchy as far back as St. Peter Damian’s noble jeremiad exposing it.

The robber Church stole the Tridentine Latin Mass from the Faithful and in the 1970s drove a generation of priests for whom it was the Mass of their ordination to depression, alcoholism, mental illness, and suicide. Throughout the history of the post-Renaissance Church it had been the parish priests and the lay people who upheld the Faith, and the “Eminences” and “Holy Fathers” who ravaged it.

Even the pagan kings of the Republic of Rome had been sufficiently honorable to mostly fulfill their duty as the protectors of the commons against the aristocracy, but the popes, i.e. the “kings” of the Church of Rome, betrayed and sacrificed the common Catholic people on the altar of elite conspiracy. From 1470 to 1970 and beyond, twas ever thus. 

Excavating this type of revisionist data can be perilous. When, in our Revisionist History newsletter no. 74, (“Right Wing Myths with an Endless Shelf Life”), we implicated the Catholic idol Hilaire Belloc in perpetuating a hoax about English history, we lost about 15% of our subscriber basis and some considerable portion of our donor base.

When, in our Revisionist History newsletter no. 80, “Hitler Had Him Murdered: Gregor Strasser, The German Visionary Who Could Have Led His Nation to a New Birth of Freedom,” we lost another hefty segment of subscribers and benefactors.

In “True and False Heroes,” the cover story of Revisionist History issue no. 83, in which we demonstrated that the  right wing idol Antonin Scalia had for decades assisted the Talmudic-Kabbalistic Chabad-Lubavitch rabbinic cult in infiltrating the American legal system and perverting thousands of American lawyers with the Talmud’s legal standards, we lost the support of more readers.

As you can probably appreciate, we are not the John Birch Society or National Review. We don’t have tens of thousands of subscribers or donors. We can ill afford to lose anyone. The publication early next year of The Occult Renaissance Church of Rome, may prove to be the straw that broke the camel’s back, spelling the collapse of our publishing enterprise, which at present subsists “paycheck-to-paycheck,” as economists say with regard to Americans in straitened circumstances. 

We operate mailbox-trip to mailbox-trip. Whatever we find when we turn the key on our post office box every week decides the fate of our work, and too many more blows will put us on the unemployment line as surely as if we were toiling for a southern textile plant that just cut a deal with a factory in Red China.

We can’t think of a better way to go down however, than fighting for the facts, and lest we commit a sin against hope, it is also quite possible that those who prize knowledge and have a thirst for truth in history and a desire to put things right, will make this book a success.

Either way, we know that Jesus Christ is above all else, Truth.  It is by the power of impostures that Satan rules. Where there is truth, there is Christ and His Kingship. This is our consolation. If we have indeed managed in The Occult Renaissance Church of Rome to unearth the truth, then He is with us — and who can be against us?

Thursday, October 06, 2016

In Honor of Poe Hoffman reads “Amontillado"

October 7, 2016 is the 167th anniversary of the death of anti-masonic author Edgar A. Poe (he didn’t like to be called "Edgar Allan;” he had contempt for his foster-father John Allan and signed himself Edgar A. — not Edgar Allan). 

Eddy probably died from a blow to the head administered by Freemasons who took advantage of an election season to mingle among the ruffians who press-ganged passersby in the less salubrious districts of Baltimore, into voting for their candidate.

For a poet whose life was one of never-ending remembrance for his beautiful mother who he lost as a child, and his beautiful child-bride who also died young (of consumption), we can do no less in honoring the memory of this supreme anti-modernist. His disdain for commercialism and abhorrence of “equality” cannot easily be processed by Leftist “politically-corrects" who, if they knew what he actually believed, would agitate for the removal of the numerous plaques, statues and other tributes to Poe which were put up from the early twentieth century onward, across a highly literate and culture-hungry America.

To mark the 167th anniversary of his passing we are offering on YouTube at no charge, our reading of his contra-masonic masterpiece, The Cask of Amontillado. We hope you enjoy it and that it will lead to a better appreciation and greater study of Poe.

It is unfortunate that high school English teachers too often limit Poe’s appeal by confining their students' reading to one or two of the more narrow, Pit and the Pendulum type horror stories which fail to convey the extraordinary depths of the originator of the detective and science fiction genres. The Fall of the House of Usher, The Black Cat, The Masque of the Red Death, and The Cask of Amontillado, along with a few of his greatest poems, are indispensable introductions to his genius and vision, and will serve to stimulate the reverie and imagination of most literate students.

A deeper voyage of discovery ought to include The Tomb of Ligeia; Hop Frog; The System of Dr. Tarr and Prof. Fether; Diddling Considered as an Exact Science; Never Bet the Devil Your Head; The Gold Bug and The Murders in the Rue Morgue, a feast to which more of the poems can be added.

These dozen or so stories and as many (or more) of his poems will serve as a worthy and illuminating entré to Poe's “Plutonian” shore of gothic-romantic, not-of-this world high strangeness, where marriage is unconsummated, feminine beauty is contemplated for its own sake and insults are avenged with fiendish ingenuity. The serious student will also wish to explore his extensive literary criticism and his philosophical treatise, Eureka.

Edgar A. Poe was born in the same year as Abraham Lincoln and was a year older than his nearly exact contemporary, Frederic Chopin, who died ten days after him, on October 17.

Let’s take out a bottle of dry sherry (Amontillado is best), play Chopin, or Stephen Foster melodies, recite his poems and lift a glass to the eminent American author who wrote, “All that we see or seem is but a dream within dream.”
Michael Hoffman is the author of essays on Poe and has performed recitations of his work. When he was four-years-old his mother began reading to him from Poe’s Tales of Mystery and Imagination, and by the age of nine he was reciting The Raven from memory and writing mystery stories in imitation of his antebellum hero. Some years ago, shortly before his mother passed away, Michael asked her why she read Poe to him at so precocious an age, since she was not a particular fan. She replied that she couldn't explain it. She only knew that something had led her to recite Poe in her young son’s presence.


Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Shimon Peres and a forgotten massacre

Shimon Peres and the Massacre of Palestinians at Tel al-Zaatar 

By Michael Hoffman

This is one of those footnotes to history that often get “lot in the shuffle” because we are referring to the history of holocausts (plural). The holocaust against the Palestinians, of which the massacre at Tel al-Zaatar refugee camp in Lebanon in 1976 is a part, is not regarded as worthy of memorialization as it would be if westerners or Zionists had been the victims; nor are the perpetrators hunted, prosecuted or branded war criminals. A case in point is Shimon Peres (1923-2016), now being eulogized in the mainstream media as an Israeli saint.

Tel al-Zaatar was established in northeast Beirut in 1949 on an area of only one square kilometer, after the ethnic cleansing of Palestinians known as the Nakba

In August 1976, while Shimon Peres was Israeli Minister of Defense, Tel al-Zaatar was overrun after a long siege. Thousands of Palestinians were massacred by right-wing Phalange forces using Israeli arms, Israeli armored personnel carriers and tanks, with Israeli Defense Forces (IDF) markings. Furthermore, the IDF was operating regularly in southern Lebanon in conjunction with Phalange militia. 

In 1976 Peres made four trips to Lebanon between late May and August, during which time considerable transfers of tanks, vehicles, artillery, and other military equipment had been made by Peres to the Fascist Phalange, who were known to desire the mass murder of Palestinians. 

While in office Ariel Sharon hinted that under Peres, Israeli Army officers had helped to personally facilitate the Tel al-Zaatar atrocity. 

The camp was besieged for 52 consecutive days. Shells and bullets fired by Lebanese militias killed thousands of the refugees. The Palestine Information Center estimates that 4,280 died and thousands were injured in the mass killings, which ended on August 12, 1976. 

Later, bulldozers demolished the whole camp, burying every part of it, in order to blot out the memory of a massacre of the wretched of the earth.  The New York Times, in its fawning obituary for Mr. Peres written by Marilyn Berger, has not a word for the ghosts of Tel al-Zaatar.

Michael Hoffman is the author of The Israeli Holocaust Against the Palestinians, soon to be available as an Amazon Kindle digital book.

More information on the war crimes of Peres is here

Hoffman on WRLA radio Oct. 1

I’ll be on the radio this Saturday speaking about "They Were White and They Were Slaves,” i.e. the enslavement of white people in Early America (most whites in bondage in the 17th century were not "indentured servants”).

Here are the details:

Michael Hoffman on WRLA 1490 AM
in Lanett, Alabama (between LaGrange, Georgia and Auburn, Alabama)

Saturday, October 1, from 1:00 to 2:30 pm Eastern time

Listeners outside the radio’s range can hear the program online via

You can also listen on your cell phone with the WRLA app, which is available from the Apple Store or Google Play


Friday, September 09, 2016

Read chapters from banned books free of charge!

Read chapters from Michael Hoffman’s revisionist history books free of charge

Thanks to donations from generous benefactors we are gradually converting all of our books to the Amazon “Kindle” digital book format, which allows people throughout the world to read the first chapter of our volumes free of charge. In this way they acquaint themselves with our thesis, discover that it is credible and scholarly — and challenging to the prevailing consensus— and free of the “hate” of which our enemies falsely accuse us. This is a huge educational and promotional tool with tremendous potential for educating millions of people!

The censorship of our books and the ban on advertisements for them has in the past allowed the adversaries of truth to misrepresent our work and intimidate potential readers. With the Kindle we smash that obscurantist censorship at one blow!

With the free book previews at the links below, you can read several pages from our books with just one click – no need for you to sign in to Amazon or install an app. Give it a try:

Usury in Christendom: The Mortal Sin that Was and Now is Not

They Were White and They Were Slaves: The Untold History of the Enslavement of Whites in Early America

Judaism’s Strange Gods

Judaism Discovered: A Study of the Anti-Biblical Religion of Racism, Self-Worship, Superstition and Deceit

We are striving to convert all of our books to the digital Kindle format. With your generous assistance we can do it! 

Books remaining to be converted to digital:

By Michael Hoffman:

Secret Societies and Psychological Warfare

The Great Holocaust Trial: The Landmark Battle for the Right to Doubt the West’s Most Sacred Relic

The Israeli Holocaust Against the Palestinians

The Occult Renaissance Church of Rome (not yet published)

By others:

The Talmud Tested (Dr. Alexander McCaul with an introduction by M. Hoffman)

The Traditions of the Jews (Prof. Johann Andreas Eisenmenger with an introduction by M. Hoffman)

History of Money and Usury in America (Daniel Krynicki)

Each conversion costs from a few hundred to several hundred dollars each, depending on the length and layout of the book.

With faith in God and the assistance of our friends and benefactors, we are hopefully striving to win hearts and minds across the globe. We will not abandon the field of combat to the enemies of truth. People are starved for the life-changing, enlightening and empowering facts and information we have to offer.

Thursday, September 08, 2016

A charlatan’s defense of his Hollywood screenplay

David Hare on writing nothing but the truth about a Holocaust denier 

The Guardian newspaper (UK) • Sept. 3, 2016 

By David Hare

In 2000 historian David Irving sued author Deborah Lipstadt for her description of him as a Holocaust denier. As his screen version comes to the cinema, David Hare explains why the trial was a triumph of free speech (Lipstadt's life work is a witch-hunting triumph for the abridgment of speech and the smearing of gas chamber doubters as morally defective cretins unworthy of a decent reputation or a good job. After the trial in 2000, homicidal gas chamber sceptic Ernst Zündel was imprisoned for a total of seven years in Canadian and German jails. Where's the "triumph of free speech" in that? Scientist Germar Rudolf was also imprisoned, and dozens of others Michael Hoffman)

In 2010 I was first approached by the BBC and by Participant Media to adapt Deborah Lipstadt’s book History on Trial for the screen. My first reaction was one of extreme reluctance. I have no taste for Holocaust movies. It seems both offensive and clumsy to add an extra layer of fiction to suffering which demands no gratuitous intervention. It jars. Faced with the immensity of what happened, sober reportage and direct testimony have nearly always been the most powerful approach. In the Yad Vashem Museum in Jerusalem, I had noticed that all the photography, however marginal and inevitably however incomplete, had a shock and impact lacking in the rather contrived and uninteresting art.

It was a considerable relief on reading the book to find that although the Holocaust was its governing subject, there was no need for it to be visually recreated. In 2000 the British historian David Irving, whose writing had frequently offered a sympathetic account of the second world war from the Nazi point of view, had sued Lipstadt in the high court in London, claiming that her description of him as a denier in her previous book Denying the Holocaust had done damage to his reputation. In English courts at the time, the burden of proof in any libel case lay not with the accuser but with the defendant. In the United States it was the litigant’s job to prove the untruth of the alleged libel. But in the United Kingdom it was up to the defendant to prove its truth. It was in that context that London was Irving’s chosen venue. He no doubt thought it would make his legal action easier. All at once, an Atlanta academic was to find herself with the unenviable task of marshalling conclusive scientific proof for the attempted extermination of the European Jews over 50 years earlier. 

There were many interesting features to the case – not least the condescension of some dubious parts of the British academic community to an upstart American – but three aspects appealed to me above all. First, there was a technical script-writing challenge. In conventional American pictures, the role of the individual is wholeheartedly celebrated. In a typical studio film, even one as good as Erin Brockovich, there is always an obvious injustice which is corrected by an inarticulate person suddenly being given the chance to find their voice. The tradition goes back to Jimmy Stewart and Henry Fonda and beyond. But what was unusual about Lipstadt’s experience was that she was an already articulate and powerfully intelligent woman who was ordered by her own defence team not to give evidence. The decision was made that her testimony would give Irving, conducting his own case, the opportunity to switch the focus of the trial from what it should properly be about – the examination of how his antisemitism infected his honesty – to an attack on something entirely irrelevant: the reliability in the witness box of Lipstadt’s instant capacity to command every scattergun detail of history.

It was quite a professional undertaking to make drama out of such a complete and painful act of self-denial. One thing for sure: we would not be offering a boilerplate Hollywood narrative. At great expense to her own peace of mind, Lipstadt had agreed to be silenced. The fascination of the film would lie with the personal cost of that choice. What were the implications for someone who, having been brought up to believe in the unique power of the individual, discovered instead the far subtler joys of teamwork? 

The book she had written turned out to be her complete defense, and the verdict vindicated that book in almost every detail. But in order to effect that defense she had to trust the judgment of two other people from a country and a bizarre legal system different from her own – her Scottish barrister Richard Rampton and her English solicitor Anthony Julius. Rampton arrived fresh from defending McDonald’s in the McLibel case, the longest trial in English legal history. Julius had handled Princess Diana’s divorce.

Second, it was clear from the start that this film would be a defence of historical truth. It would be arguing that although historians have the right to interpret facts differently, they do not have the right knowingly to misrepresent those facts. But if such integrity was necessary for historians, then it surely had to apply to screenwriters too. If I planned to offer an account of the trial and of Irving’s behaviour, I would enjoy none of the film writer’s usual licence to speculate or invent. From the trial itself there were 32 days of transcript, which took me weeks to read thoroughly. Not only would I refuse to write scenes which offered any hokey psychological explanation for Irving’s character outside the court, I would also be bound to stick rigidly to the exact words used inside it. I could not allow any neo-fascist critic later to claim that I had re-written the testimony. (Really, Mr. Hare, your critics are all neo-fascists? Here we see through the boasting of Mr. Hare about his fairness. He is so twisted in his partisanship that he blackens the reputation of any potential critic with a fascist-baiting smear. He is demonizing his opposition. Is this not an appalling act of misrepresentation?  M. Hoffman)

Nor did I want to. The trial scenes are verbatim. To say that such fidelity represented an almost impossible dramatic difficulty – this trial, like any other, was often extremely boring – would be to understate. At times, I would beat my head, wondering why real-life characters couldn’t put things in ways which more pithily expressed their purposes.

But it was for a third overriding reason that I came to feel that a film of Lipstadt’s fascinating book cried out to be made. In an internet age it is, at first glance, democratic to say that everyone is entitled to their own opinion. That is surely true. It is however a fatal step to then claim that all opinions are equal. Some opinions are backed by fact. Others are not. And those that are not backed by fact are worth considerably less than those that are. 

A few clubby English historians (this a reference, most notably, to Sir John Keegan  M. Hoffman) had always indulged Irving on the grounds that although he was evidently soft on Hitler, he was nevertheless a master of his documents. These admirers were ready to step forward and attack Lipstadt’s character and her success in the courts on the grounds that it was likely to make others historians more cautious, and thereby to inhibit freedom of speech.

But far from being an attack on freedom of speech, Lipstadt’s defense turned out to be its powerful triumph. Freedom of speech may include freedom deliberately to lie. But it also includes the right to be called out on your lying. (Revisionists are not allowed to  "call out the lying about homicidal gas chambers. This is a right exercised without fear of losing one's employment and reputation [and in Canada & Europe one's freedom], only by those who call revisionists and dissidents liars.  M. Hoffman).

During the early days of the Renaissance, Copernicus and Galileo would have scoffed at the idea that there was any such thing as authority. A sceptical approach to life is a fine thing and one which has powered revolutionary change and high ideals. But a sceptical approach to scientific fact is rather less admirable. (It is exactly the science of Auschwitz upon which revisionists like Robert Faurrison, Carlo Mattogno and Rudolf have concentrated, and which Lipstadt decrees must not be debated. She is the religious fanatic in this case. The revisionists are the Galileos. In 2006 Irving was imprisoned for almost a year in Austria for a WWII history lecture. Lipstadt's screenwriter doesn't even bother to mention it.  M. Hoffman). 

It is dangerous. As Lipstadt says in my screenplay, certain things are true. Elvis is dead. The icecaps are melting. And the Holocaust did happen. Millions of Jews went to their deaths in camps and open pits in a brutal genocide which was sanctioned and operated by the leaders of the Third Reich. There are some subjects about which two points of view are not equally valid. We are entering, in politics especially, a post-factual era in which it is apparently permissible for public figures to assert things without evidence, and then to justify their assertions by adding “Well, that’s my opinion” – as though that in itself was some kind of justification. It isn’t. And such charlatans need to learn it isn’t. Contemplating the Lipstadt/Irving trial may help them to that end. (End quote)

Read more:


Mr. Hoffmans speech, Lipstadt, Amalek and Irving given at David Irvings Real History Conference,  Labor Day 2001, will be re-released on DVD and audio-CD later this month.